New Elizabeth Peters Amelia Peabody Mystery – Maybe in 2013?

Update 08/08/2014 Very sad news. Barbara Mertz, the real Elizabeth Peters, passed away today.

Update 01/12/2013 No word yet on a publication date for Ms. Mertz’s (Elizabeth Peters) latest book. Here’s a fun report of her 85th birthday party though: http://www.mpmbooks.com/wp-birthday.pdf

Original post: I was very happy to read that Elizabeth Peters (Barbara Mertz) is at work on another Amelia Peabody mystery. The series ranks as one of my top four mystery series, those that I read over and over. According to the information on her website, the book has a working title of THE PAINTED QUEEN, and Ms. Peters says she hopes to turn in the manuscript this spring. If we are lucky, that means fans might see the book in 2013!

The new story is set during the 1912-1913 season. I find that time period fascinating, and suspect there will be many new fans of these books, as the popularity of Downton Abbey is raising interest in existing books about those pre-World War II years and the war years as well.

If you are not familiar with the series and want to try them, they are best read in chronological order. They were not all published in order though, so don’t go by the dates of publication. The books span the time period from 1884-1923 and follow Amelia and her family on their excavations in Egypt with a few side adventures in other countries. If you have only read some of the earlier books, I’d encourage you to read the later ones, when Amelia’s son Ramses begins to play a larger role in the books. His character goes from a precocious, somewhat annoying little boy to one of the more romantic Indiana Jones-type characters in modern fiction. Ms. Peters’ portrayal of him inspired me to try to create my own intriguing hero in the Victorian-era mysteries I write.

Here’s the list of Amelia Peabody books in order of time period:

  •  Crocodile on the Sandbank (1884-1885)
  • Curse of the Pharaohs (1892-1893)
  • The Mummy Case (1894-1895)
  • Lion in the Valley (1895-1896)
  • Deeds of the Disturber (1896)
  • The Last Camel Died at Noon (1897-1898)
  • The Snake, the Crocodile, and the Dog (1898-1899)
  • The Hippopotamus Pool (1899-1900)
  • Seeing a Large Cat (1903-1904)
  • The Ape Who Guards the Balance (1906-1907)
  • Guardian of the Horizon (1907-1908)
  • A River in the Sky (1910)
  • The Falcon at the Portal (1911-1912)
  • He Shall Thunder in the Sky (1914-1915)
  • Lord of the Silent  (1915-1916)
  • The Golden One  (1916-1917)
  • Children of the Storm (1919-1920)
  • Serpent on the Crown (1921-1922)
  • Tomb of the Golden Bird (1922-1923)

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

90 Responses to New Elizabeth Peters Amelia Peabody Mystery – Maybe in 2013?

  1. Shanann says:

    I had purchased Tomb of the Golden Bird at B&N a few years ago. About a month I picked it up to read an discovered that it is at the end of a long series. In just reading the first chapter of the 19thbook in chronological order I was captivated and instantly hooked. I stopped reading it and immediately ordered the first 2 books online and have since picked up all of the others in the series. I am so glad to see there will be another one. I doubt that I will be able to wait for its release though to read them in order. But oh darn, I will have to start over once it does come out! These books are a delight. Big fan of Elizabeth Peters to the degree that am also collecting The Vicky Bliss series as well as the The

    • Dee Garretson says:

      Shannan, I think I will have to go back and reread some of them too closer to the release date. I like the ones set around WW I because I have a weakness for spy fiction (I wanted to be a spy growing up.) I’ve read some of the Vicky Bliss series and while they are well-written, I prefer historicals. Thanks for commenting.

  2. choam1971 says:

    She is one of my favorite authors. I love this series of books. I have read the first books in the series over and over to the point that they are falling apart. Every time someone asks me to recomend something to read I tell them that if they want a fun adventure/mystery to find a copy of the first book (best place to start and in my opinion the best in the series). If Ms Peters is working on a new adventure for Amelia I can’t wait to buy it!

    • Dee Garretson says:

      So glad to hear from another Elizabeth Peters fan! I reread my copies too. Such a great series. Thanks for commenting.

  3. Dana says:

    This is WONDERFUL news!!!

  4. Sharon Abraham says:

    I own every Amelia Peabody book but I never knew about the ‘order’, thank you for the tip! I’m going to re-read all of them following your ‘order.’

    • Dee Garretson says:

      Sharon, I’ve decided to read some of Elizabeth Peter’s more contemporary books while I’m waiting. I just got DEVIL MAY CARE and am exciting to start it. Thanks for commenting!

  5. landis hartman says:

    absolutely can’t wait for next Amelia novel. What a wonderful series. I feel like I know the whole family.

    • Dee Garretson says:

      I know what you mean about feeling like you know everyone. All those scenes where they are having tea and discussing things make me feel like I’m sitting there quietly listening myself.

  6. Susan Simon says:

    Good Gad another book interfering with my excavation in 2013!!!
    YES, bring it on. Or as Peabody would say, “Yes, Emerson now pour me a scotch and soda. It’s just a book.” But a dark premonition began to manifest itself.

  7. Caroline McDonald says:

    I love this series but while waiting for the next installment can you suggest any similar series?

    • Dee Garretson says:

      Caroline,
      Sorry it took me so long to reply. Summer has been crazier than i thought. I love Laurie R. King’s series about Sherlock Holmes and a young woman he meets who becomes his partner in solving crimes. The first book is called The Beekeeper’s Apprentice. I also like the series by Tasha Alexander and the series by Deanna Raybourn. Hope this helps!

  8. Stephanie says:

    Thank goodness she is writing another one. I just finished the last in the series and was not sure what I was going to do! I too read one of the last published first, was hooked, then methodically ordered and read them in order.

  9. Stephanie says:

    (Amelia would have been proud of me!)

  10. Val Henderson says:

    I don’t read her books as I listen to them. The books which are read by Barbara Rosenblat are fantastic as she has one voice for Emerson, another for Peabody and the rest of the family and they are the same no matter which book you listen to.

    • Dee Garretson says:

      I didn’t even think about audio versions. Thanks so much for posting. I love audio books but the narrators have to fit, or it spoils the book.

    • Rebecca says:

      I am the biggest fan of Ms. Rosenblat. Though I have read every single Peabody, hearing Madam Rosenblat bring these characters to life makes me so connected. I listen to these novels regularly while doing the mundane…driving, housework and yes, even mending. Ms. Peter’s work has helped develop a vocabulary beyond compare, and helped developed this math and English teacher’s analytical and deductive skills. I am so much the better individual due to Amelia, Ramses, Emerson, Sethos, Cyrus, Nefret and even the dear little children.

      • Rebecca says:

        I left out the Holy man, but Abdullah features prominently. And Selim, David, Lia, Evelyn, Walter…I could go on, but Emerson would bellow.

  11. Paula Vines says:

    I have every book she has written under the name Elizabeth Peters, I have read the entire Amelia series at least 4 times. When I can’t find anything new a go back to what I like. I think anyone interested in historical fiction are missing out if they don’t read about Amelia and Emerson

    • Dee Garretson says:

      I love hearing you reread them too. They are my go-to books if I’m not feeling well, or just want to escape into a book.

  12. junebug says:

    I have reread all the books several times. Going back to Egypt with the Emersons is like visiting familiar friends! Of course when you have finished all the Elizabeth Peters books you can read her books written under the name of Barbara Michaels. They are entirely different but also very enjoyable

    • Dee Garretson says:

      I haven’t read all of the Barbara Michaels books, but now that it appears there will be a longer wait until the next Amelia book, I’m planning on checking them out.

  13. Reta Nooskey says:

    I have read all of Ms. Mertz’ books whether under Elilzabeth Peters or Barbara Michaels. I especially love the Amelia Peabody books and get a kick out reading another book and seeing reference to Amelia in them. I also read Laurie Kings Sherlock Holmes books which also have a strong quirky heroine.

    • Dee Garretson says:

      Isn’t Laurie King a fantastic writer? I put her with Elizabeth Peters among my top ten favorite mystery/suspense writers.

      • Kath says:

        Dee – thanks for this article and the chronological list! I’m on book #14 and don’t like the fact that I’m approaching the end of them! I’ll have to join those who re-read them over and over again. Do you know of any books that might appeal? I particularly enjoy the strong, unusual personalities of Amelia, Emerson, Ramses, Abdullah, Selim, etc. I also would like to ask you the names of the books in your Victorian-era mysteries in which you’ve worked to create my own intriguing hero.

    • Kath says:

      Hi Reta, I’m interested to know which books have a reference to Amelia… might like to read them. :-)

  14. Jeanne Mccune says:

    I first read Barbara’s non-fiction books about Ancient Egypt when I was teaching about that subject in Middle School Social Studies ( this was in the early 1970′s). I then met her at an author gathering at Murder ByThe Book in Denver and she personalized them for me. That was when I discovered my first Amelia Peabody book and got hooked. I have recently acquired the whole collection in hardback and they are on my Treasures Bookshelf. I have read all at least 4 times and I too go to them when I need soothing or when I want to just escape. I have all of her books, but my Amelia books are the ones I truly treasure.

    • Dee Garretson says:

      Since you were teaching about Ancient Egypt, you might be interested to know I got hooked on the subject by a teacher when I was in fourth grade and it was a unit in Social Studies. I still even remember the cover of the book, and that was many, many years ago! How great you have them all in hardback.

  15. LA Debra says:

    I have a long commute, and listen to audiobooks instead of the radio. The Amelia Peabody series read by Barbara Rosenbladt are the only books I have listened to more than once. I hope you took the previous posters suggestion and listened to one of the books narrated by Barbara. She brings to life the characters and the amazing story telling coupled with her amazing talent make me feel like the Emerson’s and their Egyptian family are old friends. I hope there is another in the series.

    I also enjoy the Mary Russell series, and am going to re-visit those as well.

    • Pitztop says:

      I, too, listen to audio books and Barbara Rosenbladt is one of the finest performers I’ve heard. I can’t even imagine being able to read any of the Peabody books without hearing her character voices in my head. I personally find her performance as a great enhancement to each story. To prove my point, one book in the series, The Mummy Case, is read by someone else and I really had to struggle to finish listening to it. The combinations of Barbara’s voices and Elizabeth’s stories are a pure listening pleasure.

      If you happen to like murder mysteries, JD Robb’s “In Death” series are excellent and are read by Susan Ericksen, who is just as fantastic a performer as Barbara….

      • Dee Garretson says:

        Thanks for the JD Robb audio reccomendation, I have a very hard time listening to audio books if the narrator is too distracting, or just doens’t seem right for the story.

    • Dee Garretson says:

      I feel the same way you do about how the characters feel like family. They are so easy to imagine, especially characters like Daoud and Selim, and of course, the cats.

  16. Cynthia Karns says:

    I also am an avid Amelia fan and was glad to see your site come up when I Googled Amelia. I’ve been re-reading the series lately like so many here. I just finished “The Falcon at the Portal” today and tonight will begin “He Shall Thunder in the Sky.” I was very excited to see that there may be one more book–I had sort of given up hope, but I hope Ms. Mertz is well enough to give us at least one more!

    I like the Mary Russell books that I’ve read. Other favorites are Anne Perry–especially the Monk series, and there are a few of those I haven’t read yet. Have any of you read Charles Finch’s Lenox series? They’re also set in the Victorian era, and I’ve read the first 4 of 6. I like them a lot, and he has a nice author page on Facebook.

    • Reta Nooskey says:

      I am not a fan of the Victorian era, but I also like Anne Perry (the Monk series) and the Mary Russell books. I will have to give Charles Finch a chance. I am also into forensic scientist mystery or coroner heros such as Kathy Reichs or Patricia Cornwall but I also love the cosy mysteries. I have all the old Georgette Heyer mysteries except one and hope to get that, and go from there. It works well with my love of science fiction which I consider a futuristic mystery.

      • Dee Garretson says:

        I was just thinking about Georgette Heyer and wondering if my daughter would like those. She likes to find authors who have many, many books out, because if she likes one book, she wants to have many more by the same author to read, and gets a little obsessive about reading them all.

    • Dee Garretson says:

      I haven’t read any Charles Finch yet, but I just looked them up and they seem very interesting. Good to know there are still more Victorian era books being published. A few years ago, a publishing company employee told me they decreasing in popularity and publishers weren’t really looking for them anymore. I think now that was a crazy thing to say, and I’ve been pleased to see new books coming out.

  17. Reta Nooskey says:

    I just re-read my comment and noticed htat I did not say anything about the Amelia Peabody books which I have all of them, as well as most of Barbara Mertz books under Barbara Michaels. I have read and read them in chronological order. I was so happy when she started filling in the gaps. I am especially happy with the research that she does and the sources that she lists. I have an old book on Egypt dated from the 1920s and it is great to see it is mentioned as a source.

    • Dee Garretson says:

      I do need to collect more of the Barbara Michaels books. I love the fact that many of her characters in those books are scholars or professors (maybe all?)

  18. Lyn (and Edsel) Hilchie says:

    I’ve been anxiously waiting to hear another Amelia story was coming. Every time a new one is presented I go back and read them all again from the beginning. I feel like I know them as real people and since they are also aging in the stories (as is Ms. Mertz) I know the series will eventually come to an end which makes me very sad.

    • Kath says:

      I’ve only read them one yet. I am now on the last one! Oh Dear !! I can hardly wait until the next one is out. I love to think of the ‘gaps’ (the ‘seasons’ that weren’t written about) will be filled. I particularly like reading the ones where Ramses was Sooooooooooooo wordy. LOL I can’t stand the thought of the series ending! There’s only one other series that I’ve been So ‘addicted’ to. I’ve read it twice. It is entirely different. There is absolutely nothing similar at all except that I felt I knew the people; felt like they were family friends & that I wanted to know what would happen next in their lives. It is the Poldark series. But, as I say, they are Nothing like Amelia & her family & friends. :-)

    • Cynthia Karns says:

      I’m so glad that I recently decided to re-read these! They are some of my favorite books ever. I have 5 more after I finish the one I’m reading now. I plan to get the Amelia Peabody’s Egypt book after that, because I don’t have that and haven’t read it. I may try to get the audio versions–based on the feedback from people here, they might be worthwhile to experience. Dee, thanks for hosting this discussion. It’s nice to be able to read other people’s thoughts on this wonderful series.

  19. Donna Jean says:

    i first read “Ammie Come Home” while babysitting many years ago. Scared me but hooked me right away. “Crocadile on the Sand Bar” was a big favorite and i was thrilled when she picked up the series and continued the story. My daughter has been hooked with me for the last 10 years. I preorder us both a copy as soon as B&N has them on their list.
    The series has given us so much enjoyment, can not wait for the next one!

  20. michele says:

    i love this series and the vicky bliss. i can’t wait for the new books

  21. Diana Bentley-Ramsden says:

    I just checked out this page after several months, and am SO happy to see that Peabody and family will return for another go-around. I have been missing this series ever since I read what I had thought was the last book, and I never tire of re-reading them all again and again. Can hardly wait to have a new adventure! Thanks so very much for keeping us informed!

  22. Nancy Cherney says:

    Thank you for all this information. I am in a family that doesn’t share my literary tastes so this page is a joy. This series has been read by me several times. Croc on the Sandbank would hook anybody. So glad to see a new book coming.

  23. Mary says:

    I’ also a fan of Ms Peters and have read every book she has ever written,My daughter wrote her about me being a big fan of hers, and Ms. peter’s took the time to hand write a postcard to me and wish me a Happy Birthday! I was beyond thrilled. What a lovely women. Mary Paquette

  24. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across
    this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

    • Kath says:

      Hi black tea for sunburn – love your name, and it does work, doesn’t it ! I hope that you enjoy the Amelia Peabody books as much as so many others have.

  25. I am so very happy that another book is coming out. I love the series and have them all on my kindle and reading from first to last. I love Amelia and her whole family.I did not realize that Ms. Peters was that old. Happy Birthday and thank you for the wonderful books such fun reading them and traveling through her beloved Egypt.

  26. Bette says:

    I love the Elizabeth Peters books, Amelia and Vicki are my favorites. My summer ‘project’ is re-reading the complete series in chronological order. Just finished “The Ape Who Guards the Balance” and cried (will not give any spoilers) towards the end. What an extraordinary series!!

  27. M M says:

    Eagerly looking forward to another book in this outstanding series. Each book is a history lesson, an English lesson, a mystery and a romantic view of family life.

  28. Karen C says:

    So sorry to hear of Barbara’s death. What a wonderful writer she was. I hope that her final book on the Emerson family will still be published. My thoughts are with her family and friends.

    • Cynthia Karns says:

      Oh, what a loss. The Peabody series is my favorite series and I know I’ll re-read the books more than once in the future. I’ve recommended them to others. I read the Amelia Peabody’s Egypt compendium earlier this summer. I feel like I’ve lost a friend.

      • Kath says:

        Oh No. I didn’t know ! I am so sad. My thoughts are with her family and friends also. I shall cherish the postcard she sent me a few months ago in reply to a letter I sent her.

  29. Diana BR says:

    I’m really saddened to read of Barbara’s death. I was talking to my husband just two nights ago about what a wonderful author she was. A loss for all of us fans.

  30. S Gannett says:

    Love her books. Met her a few years ago at Borders. Sorry to hear of her passing. Hope her new book will be published. Hope someone picks this series up and continues it in her honor.

    • Kath says:

      I would love to have met her !! I certainly hope also, that someone picks this series up and continues it in her honor! That would be wonderful.

  31. Bette says:

    Was saddened to learn of her passing. I am in the midst of re-reading the Amelia books ( on # 15 -chronologically- The Lord of the Silent). I thought I might get Amelia’d out by this time, but this series is so well thought -out and written it hasn’t happened. When I heard the news, I felt like I’d lost a very good friend. Selfishly, I do hope the last book is in a state to be published; but if not MPM has given us a literary feast to be enjoyed for many years. Thank you Barbara, you will be missed.

  32. Donna says:

    Feel like I lost a friend I have not seen for a while. “Ammie come home” is the first book of her’s I ever read. That was 44 years ago and I am still reading her books.
    Read “Ammie, Come Home” again this weekend and still thought it was great.
    My daughter and I are both big fans of Amelia. Hope they release her last book.

  33. Dee Garretson says:

    I feel like I’ve lost a friend too. Even though I never met her, I felt like she was my writing mentor. If I hear anything about the last book getting out into the world, I’ll post. Just two days before she passed away, I was looking through the publisher’s catalogue for winter releases and didn’t see anything, but perhaps the spring catalogue will show something.

  34. Nancy Haughee says:

    I am bereft at the thought that there will be no more Amelia Peabody or Vicky Bliss books coming. She was one of my favorite writers and like others who have commented on Ms Mertz’s death I am saddened to think there are no more Peabody or Bliss books to come. It is like losing three friends.

  35. Rebecca says:

    Any word on her last book?

    • Dee Garretson says:

      Not yet. I’m going to keep checking the advance publisher’s catalog. I’ll post if I hear anything. I am hoping if it wasn’t finished, they will have another writer finish it, though it wouldn’t be quite the same.

  36. Deb McDonald says:

    I, too, have been a dedicated fan of all of her writing–started with the Amelia books when they first came out and anxiously awaited each installment. What joy and fun Ms Mertz brought to me and to many of my friends and family. Perhaps she has made her way to the Valley of the Queens…

    • Donna says:

      What a lovely thought.

    • Kath says:

      What a great thought !

      • Rebecca says:

        Lannie are you on Goodreads?

      • Kath says:

        I’m glad it came to me…… what is Goodreads?

      • Rebecca says:

        Goodreads.com is a great website with reviews of books and fun groups. I look up books I am thinking of reading on goodreads all the time. You should try it Kath! :)

      • Kath says:

        Thanks. I’ll try it for sure. Have you found any books that are similar to our beloved Amelia Peabody ones?

      • Rebecca says:

        I wish! I am actually having a hard time finding good books at the library. This has never happened to me before as I love to read. I think I may just be in a mood.

      • Rebecca says:

        I did like Gail Carriger’s series but it still couldn’t hold a candle to Amelia!

      • deegarretson says:

        Kath, I love Ngaio Marsh’s mystery series with Inspector Allyn. While they are very different from Elizabeth Peters, I do like the fact that they were written in the 30s and really give a feel for the time period. The first one of the seires is A Man Lay Dead. I’m also a big fan of Martha Grimes’ Melrose Plant/Richard Jury mysteries. They are set in England in the 1980s, but again give a feel for time and place. The first one is called The Man with a Load of Mischief. Now that I’m thinking about this, I could go on and on!

  37. Cynthia Karns says:

    I just finished one of her Barbara Michaels books–Into the Darkness. It was pretty good, but I selfishly wish she had written more Amelia books since those are my preference. I personally find Peabody and Emerson’s, as well as Ramses and Nefret’s, love stories more romantic than books marketed as romances.
    I do like the idea of Ms. Mertz being in the Valley of the Queens, and my rampageous imagination puts her there with Abdullah.

  38. Lannie Hosta says:

    I am so sad to hear of Barbara Mertz’s passing. I have been reading her books under both names since I was 13 years old. (I’m 50 now!) I read House of Many Shadows so many times it fell apart. So did the second copy, so I bought a third one. I haven’t missed a single one of her books, and can’t imagine any author that can hold a candle to her. I will be watching eagerly for a sign that her newest book will be published! Lannie Hosta

  39. Cynthia Karns says:

    Dee, I’ve read the Ngaio Marsh Alleyn mysteries at least twice, and I also read the Martha Grimes Jury series! Both feature a supporting cast of interesting characters.
    Have any of you read Laurie King’s Mary Russell series? I’m about 3/4 of the way through them, and really like them. Young Miss Russell meets Sherlock Holmes in his retirement, and the game’s afoot again! They’re really well done. The 1st is called The Beekeeper’s Apprentice. She writes a modern series which doesn’t interest me as much.
    I’ve mentioned Charles Finch here before, but his Charles Lenox series is a good Victorian group. The 7th will be released next month, and he has a very good relationship with his readers on Facebook.

    • Reta Nooskey says:

      Except for Ngaio Marsh Alleyn mysteries I am an avid reader of Martha Grimes and Laurie King’s Mary Russell series. I think the reason is that as well as Ms. Mertz, these authors go with your brain and intuition rather than relying on a lot of blood, gore and sex to make the stories enthralling.

  40. Leah Moore says:

    Bravo a thousand times for Ms. Mertz!! I have been a huge fan of hers since the 70′s. As an armchair lover of all things egyptology, I began the Amelia series as soon as it came out many moons ago and have since reread them all time and time again. I have all first editions in that series and have read/own all the other ones, including the non-fiction ones. For those who don’t know about a wonderful publication that Ms. Mertz was involved in, look at the magazine KMT with her good friend Dennis Forbes as the editorial director and which until her death, Ms Mertz was on the editorial board and was a contributing editor. This is a great magazine.
    I will certainly be waiting to see if and when the new book is published!
    Leah Moore

  41. I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve
    got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with
    it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1
    or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  42. appalashlyn says:

    I haven’t read through all the comments, but if you haven’t heard the audiobooks of this series all narrated by Barbara Rosenblat, you are MISSING OUT! She is very talented and had to morph Ramses’ voice from a toddler to a man and the same to an extent with Nefret. Amazing, amazing. I heard an interview that Barbara and Barbara did discussing her audiobook talents that was attached to one of the books. You can find them probably through Audible or RecordedBooks.com. Again, truly amazing for fans of the books!

Leave a Reply

